Sunday, June 28, 2015

Electric Youth To Perform Free Summer Concerts

Following a two-and-a-half week summer concert tour of England and France, Electric Youth (EY) will perform two free outdoor concerts on Thursday, July 23, from 6:30-8 p.m. at Norfolk Town Hill and on Wednesday, July 29, from 6-8 p.m. on Franklin Town Common. The Franklin concert will be presented as part of the first annual Franklin Cultural Festival, hosted by the Franklin Cultural District Committee. The culinary, fine and performing arts celebration will take place at various downtown Franklin locations from July 29 to August 2.

Electric Youth’s 12th European tour features three shows at Disneyland Paris and several concerts along the coast of Normandy. Performances in England include a July 4th show for U.S. troops stationed at Lakenheath, Mildenhall and Feltwell Air Force Bases and concerts at Wimborne’s Tivoli Theatre and in Arundel and Hastings. Electric Youth first debuted in England and France in 2013 and this season’s itinerary marks a return to those countries after last summer’s tour of Austria and Italy. 
The 13 singer-dancers of Electric Youth 2015 are pictured in this portrait photo
The 13 singer-dancers of Electric Youth 2015 are pictured in this portrait photo

Backed by the eight-piece band of world-class musicians, Electric Youth delivers a fun, high-energy evening of family entertainment with an extensive range of contemporary pop, classic rock, Broadway and country hits for audiences all ages. This season’s repertoire features fully choreographed performances of the best of Adele, Aretha Franklin, Imagine Dragons, Michael Jackson, Bruno Mars, Jason Mraz, Frank Sinatra, Styx and more. 
Selected annually by audition, the group is chosen for superior musicianship, stage presence, and triple threat accomplishments in voice, dance, and acting. This season’s ensemble of performers, ages 15-17, studies multiple dance disciplines, voice, and acting at the Franklin School for the Performing Arts (FSPA). Electric Youth 2015 includes Adriane D’Amato of Foxboro; Madison Asgeirsson, Kendra Dombroski, Jocelyn Jones, Shaina McGillis, Lauren Szczepanowski and Melissa Wyner of Franklin; Michael Fajardo of Hopkinton; Sam Evans of Medfield; Maddy Williams of Medway; Katie Gray of Milford; Kylee Rollins of North Attleboro; and Jenna McDermott, of Wrentham.

The EY singer-dancers are backed by Boston musicians who’ve performed, recorded and toured with such music legends as Tony Bennett, Aretha Franklin, Dizzy Gillespie, B.B. King, Diana Ross, The Temptations and Van Morrison. EY’s show band features Kenny Hadley on drums, Bill Miele on bass, Artie Montanaro on trombone, Walter Platt on trumpet, Ken Reid on tenor saxophone, Ben Whiting on baritone saxophone, John Wilkins on guitar, and Raye Lynn Mercer on piano. Under the direction of Mark Poniatowski, musical arrangers for Electric Youth are Rick Hammett, Jeff Perry, Walter Platt, Poniatowski, Mark White and Ben Whiting. Hallie Wetzell is Electric Youth’s Vocal Director. Choreographers include Mercer, Casey Andrade, Cheryl Madeux, Nick Paone and Kellie Stamp. 
Electric Youth has released six professional CDs and performed internationally at England’s Arundel Festival, Disneyland Paris, professional theaters in Bristol, London and Windsor, and such renowned venues as Sanremo’s Ariston Theatre and Vienna’s Konzerthaus, Musikverein and Schonbrunn Palace. EY has also headlined Fourth of July shows for U.S. troops and their families stationed in Italy at Camp Ederle, Camp Darby, and Aviano Air Force Base. The ensemble has performed on Royal Caribbean’s Oasis of the Seas, on Fox-TV and WBZ Radio, and at Fenway Park, Gillette Stadium, Mechanics Hall, the Smithsonian Museum Theater and the United Nations. EY’s music, including the 2014 album Power Chord is available at and iTunes.

For more information about Electric Youth or the EY summer concerts, call FSPA at (508) 528-8668 or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment