Wednesday, December 29, 2021

LiveARTS: January 30, 2022 concert features 2 works by American composer Jesse Montgomery

On January 30, 2022, LiveARTS in Franklin, MA, is excited to be presenting two works by American composer Jesse Montgomery!

Jessie Montgomery is an acclaimed composer, violinist, and educator. She is the recipient of the Leonard Bernstein Award from the ASCAP Foundation, and her works are performed frequently around the world by leading musicians and ensembles. Her music interweaves classical music with elements of vernacular music, improvisation, language, and social justice, placing her squarely as one of the most relevant interpreters of 21st-century American sound and experience. Her profoundly felt works have been described as “turbulent, wildly colorful and exploding with life” (The Washington Post). 
Jessie Montgomery
Jessie Montgomery

She writes, ““Music is my connection to the world. It guides me to understand my place in relation to others and challenges me to make clear the things I do not understand. I imagine that music is a meeting place at which all people can converse about their unique differences and common stories.”

Come hear the LiveARTS String Quartet perform her unique and compelling works “Strum” (2006) and “Source Code” (2013). 

Also on the program are two of the great string quartets of Felix Mendelssohn and Ludwig van Beethoven. 

Jan 30, 2022, 3:00 PM
First Universalist Society of Franklin, 262 Chestnut St, Franklin, MA

LiveARTS String Quartet
LiveARTS String Quartet

No comments:

Post a Comment