Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Annual Report 2012: Design Review Commission

The Design Review Commission (DRC) is a committee of Citizen Volunteers that has approval authority on signage and recommendation input to the Planning Board on Site Plans and building exterior materials. It meets twice monthly and has addressed numerous projects and sign applications this past fiscal year. The Commission is currently composed of Mark Fitzgerald, Chair, Chris Baryluk, Richard Tobin, Jr., Nancy Coleman, and Anna Moses, as well as associate member, Donald Grover. Associate Adrianna Kelly resigned at the end of this fiscal year due to a move out of Franklin. Jennifer Peters, former Chair and a valued member for ten years, resigned earlier in the year due to family and work commitments and was commended for her service to the Town. James Esterbrook also stepped down due to his heavy work load and commitments to other Town committees

This past year, the Commission reviewed and addressed several Site Plans as to landscaping and lighting and exterior Building Plans as to elevations, design, colors and materials. Reviews included projects such as a new Residence Hall at Dean College, Emeritus at Franklin, a senior living facility, Ichigo Ichie Restaurant, exterior changes to Vendetti Motors, exterior changes to two Dunkin Donuts (East and West Central Street), a new building design for Wendy’s, a new Taco Bell on West Central Street and renovations to Molloy’s Gas Station.

Sign applications were reviewed, addressed and approved for approximately forty (40) businesses throughout the fiscal year. In addition, the new Sign By-Law was completed and adopted by the Franklin Town Council on March 21, 2012.

Meetings are held at the Franklin Municipal Building, 355 East Central Street, Room 205, at 7:00 p.m., on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month. Meeting times, dates and agendas are posted at the Town Clerk’s Office.

Respectfully submitted,

Mark Fitzgerald, Chair

The Design Review page on the Franklin website can be found here

Published by the Town Clerk, this comes from the 2012 Annual Report

No comments:

Post a Comment