Sunday, July 13, 2014

The Franklin Education Foundation Announces 2014-2015 Grants Awardees

Franklin Education Foundation
Franklin Education Foundation
The Franklin Education Foundation (FEF) has awarded 8 grants totaling $13,775 for the 2014-2015 school year to teachers who represent all educational levels in the Franklin public school (FPS) system.

Since its inception in 1997, the FEF has awarded over $300,000 in grants. A committee composed of FEF representatives and FPS staff read all proposals through a blind review process and selected the recipients. “Consideration was given to need, innovation, impact, and integration with other school programs” stated Kit Brady, President of the Franklin Education Foundation and Chair of the Grant Review Committee. 
This year’s recipients are: 
Franklin High School – Ann Butler, FHS Science CafĂ©; Carolyn Fortuna, Colleen Moore, Sarah Scannell, and Sam Rosen, Storytelling in 12th grade children's literature class. 
At the middle school level, recipients are: 
Horace Mann School – Heather Wilson, Carolina Campos, Chromebooks to support Spanish education; Erin O'Leary, School-based audio book library; Shawn Fortin, Expansion of middle school “virtual” online courses; and Remington School - Kimberly Schmidt, Chromebooks to support English language arts and social studies education. 
At the elementary school level, FEF awards went to 
Kennedy School – Kathleen Merten, Chromebooks to support 4th grade education; and Jefferson/Parmenter Schools – Brian Kelley, Number sense web site videos. 
Two yearly events, Casino Night and a Trivia bee, as well as an annual fund campaign, provide much appreciated support from businesses, families and organizations for the FEF grants. To see a list of programs the FEF has funded over the years, visit The Franklin Education Foundation is a 501c3 non-profit organization. All gifts are fully tax deductible.

No comments:

Post a Comment