Wednesday, June 13, 2018

In the News: MA House releases health care bill; 3 Democrats running for Ross' seat

From the Milford Daily News, articles of interest for Franklin:
"A House-controlled committee on Tuesday advanced a 127-page health care bill that includes $450 million in assessments on hospitals and insurers, a fee on urgent care clinics, creates consumer protections against out-of-network billing, adds new reporting requirements for MassHealth and urges an acceleration of digital health initiatives. 
The 11 House members of the Health Care Financing Committee voted in a poll Tuesday to recommend the bill coming out of committee, while the seven Senate members of the joint committee either reserved their rights or did not respond to the poll, according to the committee. 
The bill has been in development for months and serves as an initial counterproposal from House leaders to the health care bill approved by the Senate in November. 
“This legislation has been carefully crafted to consider the variety of stakeholders who have shared their priorities with this committee. However, this bill is ultimately shaped around improving the experience for consumers and working towards addressing the growing cost burden of healthcare on the Commonwealth,” Rep. Jeffrey Roy, the committee’s vice chairman, said in a statement. “Because at its heart, the Massachusetts approach to health reform is not about squeezing out efficiencies and cutting cost, it is transforming how we seek to pay for care to promote cost-effective, value driven services in a way that makes the healthcare system more accessible and effective for all of us.”

Continue reading the article online (subscription may be required)

"The three Democrats vying to challenge incumbent Republican Sen. Richard Ross touched on a number matters at a forum Tuesday, including climate change, education and the opioid crisis. 
Kris Aleksov, Jackie Katz and Becca Rausch are seeking the Democratic nomination for the Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex state Senate seat. The district includes part or all of Natick, Franklin, Wayland, Millis, Wellesley, Attleboro, Needham, Norfolk, North Attleborough, Plainville, Sherborn and Wrentham."

Continue reading the article online (subscription may be required)

No comments:

Post a Comment