Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Roy appointed Chair of Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities & Energy

State Rep. Jeffrey N. Roy (D-Franklin) was named by House Speaker Ronald Mariano (D-Quincy) as the new House Chair of the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities & Energy. The committee considers all matters concerning the exploration, exploitation and development of energy sources, including the siting of energy facilities, public utilities, wind farms, and the bottle bill.

“It’s a great honor to have been chosen for this assignment,” noted Roy, who is serving his fifth term in the Massachusetts House of Representatives. “These are challenging times and the sustainability issues, including the climate crisis, energy needs, and pollution are top priorities. I am humbled and honored that the Speaker entrusted me with this leadership post to face these challenges and help build a sustainable future.”

In the last session, Roy chaired the Higher Education Committee and led efforts to address financial issues on our campuses with the enactment of an act to support improved financial stability (Chapter 113 of the Acts of 2019) and make them safer with the enactment of an act relative to sexual violence at colleges (Chapter 337 of the Acts of 2020).

He also served on the special commission studying veteran’s tuition and the Harm Reduction Commission which addressed prevention and access to appropriate care and treatment of addiction. In addition to those duties, he serves as the House Chair of the Manufacturing Caucus which promotes making it in Massachusetts.

State Rep. Jeffrey N. Roy
State Rep. Jeffrey N. Roy

During his years in office, Roy has also served as Vice-Chair of the Joint Committee on Health Care Finance, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Ethics, and as a member on the Committees on Ways and Means, Judiciary, Education, Mental Health, Substance Use, & Recovery, and Labor & Workforce Development.

Since 2013 Roy has been part of the legislative efforts that have addressed the issues of education, economic development, the coronavirus pandemic, health care, substance use disorder, criminal justice, veteran’s services, seniors, housing, tax relief, civil rights, social equity, gun safety, energy, and the environment.

Also appointed to the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities & Energy were Minority Leader Brad Jones (R-N. Reading), and Reps. Dylan Fernandes (D-Falmouth), Joan Meschino (D-Hull), Jim Hawkins (D-Attleborough), David Robertson (D-Wilmington), Kate Lipper-Garabedian (D-Melrose), Richard Haggerty (D-Woburn), Steven Owens (Watertown), and Len Mirra (R-Groveland).

No comments:

Post a Comment