Showing posts with label inspection. Show all posts
Showing posts with label inspection. Show all posts

Sunday, March 12, 2023

Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for Human Resources, Town Administration, DPW, Facilities & more (updated)

Job Opportunities

To apply for a vacant position, please submit a resume and cover letter to apply@franklinma.gov.  Please put the job title in the subject line of your email. 

Benefits Coordinator - Human Resources Department

Local Building Inspector - Building and Inspections Department

Deputy Town Administrator - Office of Town Administrator

Staff Engineer - Department of Public Works

Part Time and Substitute Custodians - Facilities Department 

Updated 03/10/2023

If you do not have a resume, you may send a completed Application for Employment instead.

To receive notifications of all job opportunities in the Town of Franklin, subscribe here.

Shared from -> https://www.franklinma.gov/human-resources/pages/job-opportunities

Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for Human Resources, Town Administration, DPW, Facilities & more (updated)
Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for Human Resources, Town Administration, DPW, Facilities & more (updated) 

Thursday, March 9, 2023

Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for DPW, Facilities, Inspections, & Town administration

Job Opportunities

To apply for a vacant position, please submit a resume and cover letter to apply@franklinma.gov.  Please put the job title in the subject line of your email. 

Motor Equipment Repair Person - Department of Public Works

Local Building Inspector - Building and Inspections Department

Deputy Town Administrator - Office of Town Administrator

Staff Engineer - Department of Public Works

Part Time and Substitute Custodians - Facilities Department 

Updated 03/07/2023

If you do not have a resume, you may send a completed Application for Employment instead.

To receive notifications of all job opportunities in the Town of Franklin, subscribe here .

Shared from -> https://www.franklinma.gov/human-resources/pages/job-opportunities

Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for DPW, Facilities, Inspections, & Town administration
Town of Franklin: Job Opportunities for DPW, Facilities, Inspections, & Town administration

Saturday, February 11, 2023

Finance Committee hears from the Town permitting departments and reviews the stormwater credit manual (audio)

FM #939 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 939 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the Finance Committee meeting held on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023. 


Five members of the Finance Committee participated (4 absent); present in the Council Chambers were M Hamilton, N Corbosiero, Chair G Conley, N Riley, T Hansen. 


The Finance Committee continued their 'deep dive' series to hear about the permit organizations within the Town of Franklin and their first view of the stormwater credit manual currently in draft. 


These departments account for the "local receipts" portion of the Town revenue stream. The departments in order of presentation were Building & Inspections, Community Planning and Development (including Conservation) and Health.


Interesting to note that while MA general law does not require us to have a police or fire department, it does mandate these other departments.


The meeting recording runs 1 hour and 56 minutes, so let’s listen to the Finance Committee meeting Feb 8, 2023. Audio file -> https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-939-franklin-ma-finance-cmte-mtg-02-08-23



--------------


Meeting agenda -> https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/fin_com_agenda_-_feb_8_2023.pdf 


Draft stormwater credit manual -> https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/uploads/draft_stormwater_utility_credit_manual_rev_3_10.24.22_watermark.pdf 


Franklin TV Video link ->  

https://www.youtube.com/live/cWmkflTkiMs?feature=share 


My notes in one PDF (including screen grabs of the presentations)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1a-PEcRqSbqUS-9YEEv4tAgGBb32ksUOo/view?usp=share_link 


Link to Finance Committee => https://www.franklinma.gov/finance-committee 


--------------


We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

 

How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/

If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"


multiple views of Derek Adams and Kate Sjoberg talking about storm water
multiple views of Derek Adams and Kate Sjoberg talking about storm water

Thursday, February 9, 2023

Franklin TV video of Finance Committee meeting 2/08/23 is available for replay (video)

The Finance Committee met on Wednesday February 8, 2023 and continued their 'deep dive' series to hear about the permit organizations within the Town of Franklin and their first view of the storm water credit manual currently in draft. 

These departments account for the "local receipts" portion of the Town revenue stream. The departments in order of presentation were Building & Inspections, Community Planning and Development (including Conservation) and Health.

Interesting to note that while MA general law does not require us to have a police or fire department, it does mandate these other departments.

Meeting agenda ->

Franklin TV Video link ->  

My notes in one PDF (including screen grabs of the presentations)

My recap and the meeting audio will be available in a couple of days.



multiple views of Derek Adams and Kate Sjoberg talking about storm water
multiple views of Derek Adams and Kate Sjoberg talking about storm water

Thursday, December 8, 2022

Board of Health to move to risk based inspections, schedule public hearing on reflexology regulations (audio)

FM #894 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 894 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the Town of Franklin Board of Health Meeting held on Wednesday, December 7, 2022. All three board members participated, 2 in room, 1 remote (hence roll call votes). Health Dept staff present were in the 3rd floor training room except for the inspector. 


Quick Recap:

  • Public hearing on proposed reflexology regulations being scheduled for Jan 4, 2023 meeting

  • Admin assistant position being posted in January to extend search to external candidates

  • Move from 2 times per year inspection for all food license holders to a risk based approach to begin in January. Higher risk food handling establishments would have more frequent inspections, lower risk establishments would have less. The risk ranking scale is part of what will be communicated with the establishments before January

  • Capture of food waste pilot program a success at Keller-Sullivan, Channel 10 had a crew in to do a story on it, will be expanded to other schools and to Senior Center. Suggested to include Tri-County


The meeting runs about 30  minutes. Let’s listen to the Board of Health meeting Dec 7, 2022.


Audio file ->  https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-894-franklin-ma-board-of-health-mtg-12-07-22


--------------


The agenda can be found ->

https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/agenda_12-7-2022.pdf

   

My notes collected in a Twitter thread PDF ->

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JgMe8eN2kcrDnr0N0Hgrcb45pqzVv-RT/view?usp=share_link


--------------

We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.


How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"


Board of Health to move to risk based inspections, schedule public hearing on reflexology regulations (audio)
Board of Health to move to risk based inspections, schedule public hearing on reflexology regulations (audio)

Friday, November 4, 2022

Board Of Health hears from Curry House representatives among the normal monthly Health Dept activities (audio)

FM #872 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 872 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the Town of Franklin Board of Health Meeting held on Wednesday, November 2, 2022. All three board members were present. All Health Dept staff present were in the 3rd floor training room. 


Representatives from Curry House were present at the start of the meeting and left when their portion of the discussion was completed.


The meeting runs about 45 minutes. Let’s listen to the Board of Health meeting Nov 2, 2022.


Audio file -> https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-872-franklin-ma-board-of-health-mtg-11-02-22


--------------


Agenda document ->  https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/11-2-22_2.pdf  


My notes collected in a Twitter thread PDF ->

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1smRk0DIgOilk62lbiyZzHYVY9faPWjE-/view?usp=share_link 


Some background on the reflexology discussion provided by the Franklin Observer -> https://franklinobserver.town.news/g/franklin-town-ma/n/129652/making-sure-its-just-right-touch-and-nothing-more


--------------

We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.


How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"


Monday, September 12, 2022

2 RMV inspection stickers changes starting Oct 1 (no printed report) and Nov 1 (change in sticker date for late inspections)

The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) is announcing, effective November 1, 2022, motor vehicles passing required inspections will get a new sticker with the month the last sticker expired, valid for one year.  Any vehicle owner late in getting a vehicle inspected, beyond one year from the last inspection, will no longer get a sticker displaying the month the new inspection occurred. 

Vehicles with inspection stickers that expired last year will receive a January sticker of the current year the vehicle is being inspected, no matter the month the vehicle is inspected this year.  This change does not impact the requirements for newly purchased vehicles.  All newly purchased vehicles must be inspected within seven days of the vehicle registration date and will receive a sticker of the month in which it was inspected and is valid for one year.

“Safety of the Commonwealth’s roadways is the most important reason for motor vehicle inspections.  Vehicle inspections check tire treads, ensure all light signals are working and even check the front ball joints. It is the law that motor vehicles are inspected every year,” said Registrar of Motor Vehicles Colleen Ogilvie. “Vehicle owners are required to have the inspection done one year from the month the last inspection was done. We are asking all vehicle owners to place safety first and make sure to check your inspection date, and don’t be late.”

“Light-duty cars and trucks are equipped with emission control systems that reduce pollution to protect public health and the environment. It is important that these systems are tested annually to ensure proper emissions controls,” said Commissioner Martin Suuberg of the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP). “The change being implemented by the RMV will help ensure that all vehicles are inspected every year.”

The penalty for driving vehicles with an expired sticker, or driving an uninspected vehicle, may result in a moving violation and lead to additional fines, or suspension if unpaid, and even a surchargeable incident which increases the vehicle owner’s insurance costs.

There is no change for owners who get their vehicles inspected on time or before the due date. Owners will continue to receive the sticker with the number of the month in which the vehicle was inspected.

In addition, starting October 1, 2022, in an effort to reduce paper waste in the environment, vehicle owners will no longer receive a printed inspection report when a vehicle passes inspection.  Instead, owners can easily access and print a report by going online to Mass Vehicle Check or by using a cell phone and scanning the QR code on the poster displayed at the inspection site.  If a vehicle fails the inspection, the owner will be provided with a printed vehicle inspection report by the inspection station.

The Massachusetts Vehicle Check, a joint effort between the MassDEP and the RMV, is the vehicle emissions testing and safety inspection program for the Commonwealth. Vehicle owners can get an inspection at any of the 1,800 licensed inspection stations in Massachusetts.

For more information, please visit:  Vehicle inspections | Mass.gov.

Locate vehicle inspections stations  https://www.mavehiclecheck.com/apps/station-locator



2 RMV inspection stickers changes starting
2 RMV inspection stickers changes starting

Friday, August 12, 2022

Annual Report Of The Building Inspection Department - FY 2021

Note: FY 2021 is last year (July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021). The report was prepared to cover the business for the FY 2021 period. This year’s report FY 2022 (July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022) is in preparation now and is normally available for distribution at the polls for the November election. Updated - 08/15/22

The Building Inspection Department is a multi- functional office responsible for the construction, demolition, alteration, repair and occupancy of all residential, commercial, business and industrial uses for both existing and new construction in accordance with the Massachusetts Building Code. The department is responsible for the administration, interpretation and enforcement of the following codes:

Massachusetts State Building Code - 780CMR 
Town of Franklin Code - Zoning – CH 185 
Mass. Electrical Code – 527 CMR
Mass. Plumbing & Gas Code – 248 CMR 
National Fuel Gas Code – NFPA 54-2002 
Sealer of Weights and Measure – G.L. CH 98 
Architectural Access Board – 521 CMR

Hours of Operation
The Building Inspection Department’s hours are Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday 8:00a.m.-4:00p.m., Wednesday 8:00a.m.-6:00p.m. and Friday 8:00a.m.- 1:00p.m.

For your convenience, you may visit our website: at www.franklinma.gov this site contains a series of online forms and applications easily accessible and available to download and apply online. The website has sample plot plans, sign regulations, swimming pool instruction manuals, shed/barn instruction manuals, zoning criteria and other information necessary to process a permit or to simply provide information to the public.

Building Department Staff

Building Commissioner/Zoning Officer: Lloyd Brown

Inspectors:
Inspector of Wires: Bernard Mullaney 
Asst Wiring Inspector: James Loughlin 
Plumbing/Gas Inspector: Richard Cornetta
Asst Plumb/Gas Inspector: John “Jack” Giancola 
Local Building Inspector: Stephen O’Neill 
Sealer of Weights & Measurers - Comm. of Mass. /Div. of Standards

Staff Assistants
Judy Demers
Melissa Kiriacopoulos 
Tyler Paslaski
Casey Thayer
 
Lloyd Brown, Commissioner of Buildings, is responsible for all construction trade inspectors, municipal maintenance and supervision of all construction, zoning interpretation and determination, pre-planning and review of all subdivisions and proposed construction and improvements and general input for all other municipal departments and construction-related inquiries.

FY 2021 saw an upward rise in the amount of building permits issued. No doubt a result of more folks staying home and taking less vacations. We appreciate the patience of all residents, town council members and fellow employees, without everyone’s help and understanding FY21 would have been challenging. To our commercial customer’s, we thanks you as well. We saw the passing of our longtime Assistant Plumbing and Gas Inspector, Richard McCormick. Mac was solid inspector and a great friend, he is missed. As always for the past several decades our town is growing and changing every day. New buildings replace older structures and remodeling keeps the older building up to code. A convenient permit process helps to apply for all of our permits with any electronic online device. It’s a pleasure to serve you all!


Building Permits
This year the Building Department issued a total of 1732 building permits and the revenues collected totaled $810.557.20


There is a whole lot more to the Building Inspection Department section of this annual report but the tables and other info were not easily copied for this format. 

Find the remainder of the Building Inspection Department report on page  116


The full Annual Report for 2021 can be found

The collection of Annual Reports can be found online

Annual Town Report Of The Town Clerk’s Office - FY 2021 Annual Report Of The Town of Franklin - FY 2021
Annual Report Of The Town of Franklin - FY 2021

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Board of Health hears about chicken coop encroachment issue; no new housing inspections, 1 COVID death in May (audio)

FM #811 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 811 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the Town of Franklin Board of Health Meeting held on Wednesday, June 1, 2022. One board member was in the 3rd floor training room along with Health Dept staff. The other two members participated remotely. All votes were via roll call.


The meeting runs about 30 minutes. Let’s listen to the Board of Health meeting June 1, 2022.


Audio file -> 
https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-811-town-of-franklin-board-of-health-mtg-06-01-22

--------------


Agenda document ->  https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/boh_agenda_06012022_3.pdf 


My notes collected in a Twitter thread PDF ->

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yMfZYjMA6weyYUsAn_0ExswMcKcDhM19/view?usp=sharing 


--------------

We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.


How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"


https://www.franklinma.gov/health-department/webforms/covid-19-dashboard-portal
https://www.franklinma.gov/health-department/webforms/covid-19-dashboard-portal

Friday, February 4, 2022

Franklin, MA: Board of Health Meeting - 02/02/22 (audio)

FM #716 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 716 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the Franklin, MA Board of Health (BoH) meeting held on Wednesday, Feb 2, 2022. The meeting was held in the 3rd floor training room with 1 BoH member remote and at least one public attendee participating remotely virtually via the Zoom conference bridge.


Links to the meeting agenda and my notes are included in the show notes. The recording runs about 40 minutes, so let’s listen to the Board of Health meeting of Feb 2, 2022.


Audio file -> 
https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-716-board-of-health-mtg-02-02-22


--------------


Meeting agenda 

https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/boh_agenda_02022022_1.pdf 


My notes

https://www.franklinmatters.org/2022/02/recap-board-of-health-conducts-regular.html 


--------------


We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

 

How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"

 

Board of Health conducts regular business, listens to resident comments on masking
Board of Health conducts regular business, listens to resident comments on masking