Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

School Committee discusses the Superintendent Review process - 04/12/22 (audio)

FM #7773 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 773 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the School Committee Superintendent Review meeting held Tuesday, April 12, 2022. 


There is only one item on the agenda: Superintendent’s Evaluation Process Discussion


  • Elise Stokes, chair of the subcommittee provided an overview of the process. There was a discussion on timing and focus to clarify points in the process. 

  • The school committee members will get a form to fill out to be compiled and reviewed at a meeting in May and then bring the review forward targeted for the June 14 school committee meeting.


The meeting opened at 6:06 PM and ran approx. 16 minutes. Note the audio quality improves a few minutes into the recording as I move the device to the front of the speaker table in the Council Chambers.


Audio file ->  
https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-773-school-cmte-superintendent-review-mtg-04-12-22


--------------


Meeting agenda->  

https://www.franklinps.net/sites/g/files/vyhlif4431/f/agendas/scagenda_4-12-22_workshop.pdf 


My notes -> 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PSIjHYgr5T0Rk1asgFTIYoqtCR_m0n0n/view?usp=sharing 


--------------


We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

 

How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"

 

School Committee discusses the Superintendent Review process - 04/12/22 (audio)
School Committee discusses the Superintendent Review process - 04/12/22 (audio)

Monday, February 21, 2022

Town Council Meeting - 02/16/22 - Audio in 3 parts

FM #735-736-737 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, numbers 735-736-737 in the series. 

This session shares part of the Franklin, MA Town Council meeting held on Wednesday, February 16, 2022. 

The meeting was conducted in a hybrid format: members of the Town Council and Town Administration personnel, the Police new hires, along with their guest and family members were in the Council Chambers, some members of the public participated in person, some via the Zoom conference bridge, all to adhere to the ‘social distancing’ requirements of this pandemic period.

I’ve split the three hour and 10 minute meeting into three (3) logical segments:

The show notes contain links to the meeting agenda. Let’s listen to this segment of the Town Council meeting of Feb 16, 2022

Part 1 -

Part 2 -

Part 3 -

--------------
Presentation Diversity, Equity & Inclusion - Sara Ahern, Superintendent of Schools -> https://www.franklinps.net/sites/g/files/vyhlif4431/f/uploads/dei_presentation_february_8_2022_5.pdf

--------------

We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial

This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

How can you help?
  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors
  • If you don't like something here, please let me know
Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.

For additional information, please visit www.Franklinmatters.org   or www.franklin.news 

If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com

The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.

I hope you enjoy!

------------------

You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"

Town Council Meeting - 02/16/22 - Audio in 3 parts
Town Council Meeting - 02/16/22 - Audio in 3 parts

Saturday, January 29, 2022

Ad Hoc Committee for the Town Administrators Review - 01/26/22 (audio)

FM #712 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 712 in the series. 


This session of the radio show shares the audio recording of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Town Administrators Review. The meeting was held on Wednesday, Jan 26, 2022 in the Council Chambers, live streamed and shared via cable and Zoom. We recorded this audio in the room. 


Subcommittee Chair Glenn Jones opens the meeting. Councilors Robert Dellorco and Tom Mercer participate. Town Administrator Jamie Hellen, assistant Alecia Alleyne and HR Director Karen Bratt are also in the Chambers.


The recording runs about 50 minutes, so let’s listen to the Ad Hoc committee for the Town Administrators review meeting. Audio file => https://franklin-ma-matters.captivate.fm/episode/fm-712-town-administrator-review-cmte-mtg-01-26-22



--------------


Meeting agenda

https://www.franklinmatters.org/2022/01/town-administrator-evaluation-ad-hoc.html 


My notes from the meeting

https://www.franklinmatters.org/2022/01/recap-procedure-review-completed-town.html 


--------------


We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  


This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

 

How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know


Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/


If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"

 

Town Administrator Jamie Hellen gets a good review and has no plans to leave
Town Administrator Jamie Hellen gets a good review and has no plans to leave

Friday, January 28, 2022

Recap: Procedure review completed; Town Administrator review previewed

Quick Recap:
  • In back to back meetings on Wednesday, two subcommittees of the Town Council completed discussion on their tasks
  • First, the Procedural Review picked up from their Dec meeting to complete review of the current document and make mostly minor and/or technical revisions. One key component is to expand the remote participation up to "no more than 4". Pre-pandemic only one councilor was allowed to participate via phone remotely. Now, with Zoom in place, the limit can be raised to 4. Still need to maintain a physical quorum in the room
  • This is also pending further review depending upon what the State House does with the Open Meeting Law requirements with the current pandemic exceptions expiring in April (or June?)
  • The procedure doc changes as drafted by the subcommittee will be reviewed at a meeting Feb 2, before the full council session at 7, and scheduled for full discussion with the Council
  • Second, the Ad Hoc Town Administrator Review subcommittee met to review the performance and accomplishments of Jamie Hellen
  • Jamie insisted that his review is a reflection of the overall town personnel in providing service to the community. When pressed if he had any plans to leave, he said no. Paraphrasing - I don't take things for granted, it has been most rewarding here, we are rooted in MA, if I had my druthers, I'd stay here. I am still young. #tctar0126 I'd be more than honored to serve here at your discretion.
  • The full review write up is currently planned to be brought to the Town Council for the Feb 16 meeting for their full discussion and approval

The combined Twitter thread for the two meetings is located here (below).  
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MBd3ieaUnIBVv8rrJ9zV_Bo2e8FBhJK9/view?usp=sharing

The audio recording of the TA review meeting will be available in a couple of days.

 

Town Administrator Jamie Hellen updating the Council at a recent meeting
Town Administrator Jamie Hellen updating the Council at a recent meeting

Tuesday, January 25, 2022

Town Administrator Evaluation Ad Hoc Committee - Jan 26, 2022

TOWN ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION AD HOC COMMITTEE
Agenda & Meeting Packet
January 26, 2022 = 6:30 PM

Meeting will be held at the Municipal Building
2nd floor, Council Chambers, 355 East Central Street


Agenda:
1. CALL TO ORDER
2. TOWN ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION DISCUSSION
3. ADJOURN


Agenda doc also contains the remote connection information for this session
https://www.franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/2022-01-26_ta_evaluation_agenda.pdf 

Town Administrator Evaluation Ad Hoc Committee - Jan 26, 2022
Town Administrator Evaluation Ad Hoc Committee - Jan 26, 2022


Sunday, January 16, 2022

Senator Becca Rausch’s Mid-Session Beacon Hill Review

As your voice and advocate in the State Senate, I am very proud to share several 2021 accomplishments, including a robust COVID-19 response, billions of dollars invested into our communities, and the advancement of critically needed reforms through the legislative process on Beacon Hill.

Safety for You and Your Family: My top priority has been advocating for measures that keep you and your family safe and stable throughout this public health crisis. Last year alone, my team and I helped more than 500 constituents access government benefits and supports, including unemployment assistance and food security. I also hosted monthly virtual office hours, senior coffees, and two youth legislative forums to remain accessible to constituents through the ups and downs of this pandemic.   

In addition to crafting and advocating for school masking legislation and the COVID-19 Vaccine Equity Act, I also worked in partnership with public health experts, community organizations, and my legislative colleagues to pressure the Baker Administration to implement policies to keep our communities safe and local economy afloat through this crisis. Our achievements included universal masking in all K-12 schools, paid time off for families and caregivers taking children to COVID-19 vaccination appointments, implementing a COVID vaccine pre-registration system for mass vaccination sites, and delivering a multi-pronged COVID-19 Action Plan to the Governor.

Safety during these difficult times also means addressing violence and discrimination. Amid the rise of conspiracy theories and disinformation about vaccines and COVID-19, we have also seen an alarming spike in antisemitism, racism, and xenophobia on social media, in our public schools, and from elected officials. It is our collective responsibility to call out hate and injustice whenever we see it. I collaborated with Robert Trestan, Executive Director of ADL New England, to pen a GBH commentary piece explaining the rise in antisemitism within the antivax movement here in Massachusetts and across our nation. As your State Senator, I have publicly condemned abject acts of hate, offered to engage in constructive dialogue in communities, secured tens of thousands of dollars to fund diversity, equity, and inclusion work in our district, and voted to support the Genocide Education Act, now law, which requires that genocide education be taught in Massachusetts public schools before the end of high school. Unfortunately, COVID-19 is not the only pandemic we’re up against.

Funding Our Communities’ Recovery: The Legislature passed a $4 billion bill to allocate federal American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds to equitably invest in our continued recovery from the COVID-19 crisis. This bill delivers broad spectrum supports for our communities’ health, including mental and behavioral health, housing security, our environment, and workforce development. I secured numerous amendments to support our district and the Commonwealth at large, including targeted funding to assist women re-entering the workforce, providing post-traumatic stress care for medical personnel, and $1,000,000 in investments for local housing, transportation, water infrastructure, and other projects in our district.

I secured several victories in the FY 2022 budget as well, including $500,000 for local projects across our district, a pilot program for a statewide youth mental health support text line, funding for the Department of Public Health to hire personnel with expertise in combatting vaccine hesitancy, and funding for New Hope’s new domestic violence shelter and an updated facility for the Attleboro Center for Children.

Legislative Victories: The gears of the legislative process are turning, and many bills are moving through their respective committees. Committees must take action on every timely filed bill by February 2, 2022, so we can expect an increase in floor votes and legislation headed to the governor’s desk in the coming months.

My Senate colleagues and I have already advanced some game-changing bills. In October, we passed comprehensive election reform legislation, strengthened by adoption of several amendments I filed. The bill provides election day voter registration, permanent mail-in voting, improved jail-based voting access, and upgrades to our elections infrastructure. My amendment work also elevated issues still left to address, like ballot drop box ratios and paid time off for voting. We also passed the Mental Health ABC Act to improve access to culturally competent care, support and boost our Commonwealth’s mental health care workforce, reduce barriers to emergency treatment, and more. This month, we again passed a bill to make government-issued IDs more accessible to people experiencing homelessness to facilitate access to critically needed services across our Commonwealth. These bills now await action by the House.  

As Senate Chair of the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture (ENRA), I also worked to pass the law that improves conditions for egg-laying hens while keeping our egg supply available and affordable.  

Moving Forward: There is still so much work to be done. This session I filed more than 40 bills designed to advance election reform, good governance, public health, reproductive justice, climate action, and intersectional justice and equity. This month, my lead climate action legislation cleared the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities, and Energy, and I anticipate more favorable reports on my bills in the coming weeks. My team and I continue working hard on your behalf to shepherd these bills through the legislative process.  

It is my great honor to represent the Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex District in the Massachusetts State Senate, and I’ll continue putting my proven leadership to work for you. Please reach out to me if you need assistance, have thoughts on policy, or want to check in. My office phone number is 617-722-1555, my email is becca.rausch@masenate.gov, and you can sign up for a personal office hours appointment at beccarauschma.com/office-hours. I also invite you to join me for my district-wide virtual town hall conversation on Monday, January 24 at 7 PM (sign up at www.beccarauschma.com/town-hall).

As we begin 2022, I wish you and your loved ones strength, health, resilience, and joy. I look forward to everything we will accomplish together this year.  

Senator Becca Rausch represents the Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex District, comprised of Attleboro, Franklin, Millis, Natick, Needham, Norfolk, North Attleborough, Plainville, Sherborn, Wayland, Wellesley, and Wrentham. Senator Rausch serves as the Senate Chair of the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources, and Agriculture and the Senate Vice Chair of the Joint Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Oversight. 

Senator Rausch to host Virtual Town Hall - Jan 24, 2022 - Register now to participate!
Senator Rausch to host Virtual Town Hall - Jan 24, 2022 - Register now to participate!

Saturday, December 18, 2021

FM #680 - Town Council Procedures Review - 12/15/21 (audio)

Quick Recap:

  • A review of the procedures doc began with this session. Coordination on aspects of this to help with better consistency between School and Town meetings will be done aside with Town Administrator Jamie Hellen, Attorney Mark Cerel and Superintendent Sara Ahern
  • No major changes foreseen at this time, better consistency in procedure and language being worked. Not all of the doc was addressed in this session. No date yet set for the next meeting
  • And yes, you do hear my contribution to this session. As I do attend multiple meetings across the Town and School functions, I do see opportunity for improvements. While this is focused on Town Council meetings, it can have ripple effects to the others, especially to the Town Council subcommittee meetings

-------


As with most meetings in this pandemic period, I took my notes via Twitter while I attended the meeting in the 3rd Floor Training Room. 

 

The Twitter hashtag #tcpr1215  can be found online The thread begins with

https://twitter.com/FranklinMatters/status/1471253969351675914   


  • getting ready for the Town Council procedures review committee meeting to begin at 6 PM agenda doc (including procedure doc) -> https://franklinma.gov/sites/g/files/vyhlif6896/f/agendas/december_15_rules_of_procedure_review_committee_meeting_agenda_0.pdf  #tcpr1215
  • the recording will be available later. May not be as active tweeting what's up during this to keep track of the discussion. This wont the only meeting on this topic; action already assigned for the 'preamble' to be coordinated with Schools to bring consistency #tcpr1215
  • the consistency would help residents as they approach this Council or any meeting to have as similar a process as possible; expectations once set, can then be better managed and followed #tcpr1215
  • Finding terminology inconsistencies and the discussion around which term to use is good, and helpful #tcpr1215 removing 'not' from one phrase is an option, removing 'only' is a better option in sec 18
  • looking to define "Councilor Comments" better than it is (which is not well) currently... #tcpr1215
  • motion to adjourn, and move to the formal Council meeting #tcpr1215


FM #680 = This is the Franklin Matters radio show, number 680 in the series. 

This session of the radio show shares the Franklin, MA Town Council Procedures Review Subcommittee meeting held on Wednesday, December 15, 2021.

The budget workshop was conducted in the third floor training room of the Municipal Building. Three Town Councilors (Chair Tom Mercer, Councilors Debbie Pellegri, and Glenn Jones) were present along with the Town Administrator Jamie Hellen, Town Attorney Mark Cerel and Admin Assistant Alecia Alleyne. 

The recording of the public meeting runs about 53 minutes. 

Links to the meeting agenda and associated documents released for this meeting are included in the show notes. The link to my notes taken during the meeting is also provided.

Let’s listen to this session of the Town Council Procedures Review Subcommittee meeting Dec 15, 2021 




--------------


--------------


We are now producing this in collaboration with Franklin.TV and Franklin Public Radio (wfpr.fm) or 102.9 on the Franklin area radio dial.  

This podcast is my public service effort for Franklin but we can't do it alone. We can always use your help.

 

How can you help?

  • If you can use the information that you find here, please tell your friends and neighbors

  • If you don't like something here, please let me know

Through this feedback loop we can continue to make improvements. I thank you for listening.


For additional information, please visit Franklinmatters.org/ or www.franklin.news/

If you have questions or comments you can reach me directly at shersteve @ gmail dot com


The music for the intro and exit was provided by Michael Clark and the group "East of Shirley". The piece is titled "Ernesto, manana"  c. Michael Clark & Tintype Tunes, 2008 and used with their permission.


I hope you enjoy!

------------------


You can also subscribe and listen to Franklin Matters audio on iTunes or your favorite podcast app; search in "podcasts" for "Franklin Matters"


FM #680 - Town Council Procedures Review - 12/15/21
FM #680 - Town Council Procedures Review - 12/15/21


Thursday, October 21, 2021

Tiered Focused Monitoring Review of Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School

During the week of November 29, 2021, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education's Office of Public School Monitoring (PSM) will conduct a Tiered Focused Monitoring Review of Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School. The Office of Public School Monitoring reviews each district and charter school every three years to monitor compliance with federal and state special education and civil rights regulations. Areas of review related to special education include student assessments, determination of eligibility, the Individualized Education Program (IEP) Team process, and IEP development and implementation. Areas of review related to civil rights include bullying, student discipline, physical restraint, and equal access to school programs for all students. 

Parent outreach is an important part of the review process. The review chairperson from the Office of Public School Monitoring will send all parents of students with disabilities an online survey that focuses on key areas of their child's special education program. Survey results will contribute to the development of a report. During the review, the Office of Public School Monitoring will interview the chairperson(s) of the district's Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC). Other activities may include interviews of district staff and administrators, reviews of student records. 

Parents and other individuals may call Corey Steinman, Public School Monitoring Chairperson, at (781) 338-3742 to request a telephone interview. If an individual requires an accommodation, such as translation, to participate in an interview, the Department will make the necessary arrangements.

Within approximately 60 business days after the review, the review chairperson will provide the district with a report with information about areas in which the district meets or exceeds regulatory requirements and areas in which the district requires assistance to correct or improve practices. The public will be able to access the report at http://www.doe.mass.edu/psm/tfm/reports/.


About the Benjamin Franklin Charter School
The Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School's mission is to assist parents in their role as primary educators of their children by providing students with a classical academic education coupled with sound character development and community service. Our mission is supported by four distinct, yet interconnected pillars that provide for a collaborative, rigorous education for all students. These pillars guide, direct and define the school in all it does.
 

The Benjamin Franklin Classical 
Charter Public School
500 Financial Park
Franklin, MA 02038
www.bfccps.org


For reference: 
new school sign at the entrance
BFCCPS school sign at the entrance (taken day of ribbon cutting)